Skip To Main Content

Site Info Container

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Manchester Middle School 8th Graders Move up to High School

Manchester Township Middle School Principal Nancy Driber and her staff said goodbye to Manchester's future Class of 2023 at the middle school graduation ceremony on June 21, 2019. The ceremony was held at Manchester Township High School, where the students will enter as freshmen in the fall.

Mrs. Driber welcomed the audience of parents, friends, and family members and introduced Aaliyah Douglas to lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Ava Rosenberg and Andrew Perez sang the National Anthem. Connor Hughes presented the student welcome address, followed by the Eighth Grade Chorus performing "Time of Our Lives".

The following awards were presented: Manchester Board of Education Academic Excellence Award – Isabella Funaro and Julianna Griffith; Carrie-Anne Carter Academic Achievement Award – Isabella Funaro and Connor Hughes; Carrie-Anne Carter Character Achievement Award – Adeposi Aderogba and Julianna Griffith; Manchester Township Education Association Award –Abigail Peluso and Qian Li; Student of the Year Award – Nicole Collinson and Antonio Szczech; Scholar Athlete Award – Julianna Griffith and Evan Weiner; Athletes of the Year –Devyn Quigley and William Freeman; Christie Pearce Sportsmanship Award – Abigail Peluso and Diego Martinez; School/Community Service Award – Cheyenne Lowe; Ocean County Professional Guidance Assoc. Caring Award – Allison Gilbert; Manchester PTA Arts Awards – Ava Rosenberg (Chorus), Kaye Huet (Art), Madalynn O'Neill (Band), Nicole Collinson (Spanish); Drama Club Leadership Award – Maya Bachonski, Andrew Perez, Gabriella Edwards, Alexis Cerenak, Siobhan Estelle, Kevin Craddox; Musicianship Award – Andrew Perez; Administrative Unit Award – Nicole Collinson; Presidential Academic Fitness Award -Adeposi Aderogba, Nicole Collinson, Isabella Funaro, Allison Gilbert, Juliana Griffith, Connor Hughes, Qian Li, Brielle Murray, Madalynn O'Neill, Abigail Peluso, Hannah Repuyan, Avery Ruocchio; Manchester Middle School Achievement Award – Sarah Coffman and Callie Rommel; Manchester's Future Engineer STEM Award – Nicole Collinson, Qian Li, Olise Okose, Patrick David Pagdatoon.

Superintendent of Schools, David Trethaway, congratulated the graduates for their achievements and thanked parents and staff for their contributions to the students' success. Board of Education member, Melanie Biscardi, also addressed the graduates. After all the class names were called and all the certificates awarded, Isabella Funaro presented the student farewell address.

Finally, Mrs. Driber said goodbye to the class expressing her pride and confidence in the students and wishing them all the best in high school as she dismissed the class for the final time.